Accueil » Annonces » Atelier - Débat - Table ronde » Formation des formateurs : Méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives dans la recherche en sciences sociales

Formation des formateurs : Méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives dans la recherche en sciences sociales

Date limite : 26 avril 2013

Dates : 17-21 Juin 2013
Lieu : Dakar, Sénégal

Appel à candidatures

Etes-vous enseignant dans une université africaine ? Avez-vous la responsabilité d’enseigner les méthodes de recherche ? Si oui, cette annonce de programme vous est destinée.

Le Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique a le plaisir d’annoncer une initiative destinée aux membres de la communauté africaine de recherche responsables dans leurs universités de l’enseignement des méthodes de recherche en sciences sociales. En connaissance des crises aux aspects multiples auxquelles sont confrontées le système africain d’enseignement supérieur en général et les universités en particulier depuis deux décennies, le CODESRIA s’est investi en offrant aux étudiants et aux professionnels à mi-carrière des opportunités de formation dans les méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives de recherche. La première phase de ces opportunités de formation était centrée sur les méthodes de recherche quantitative. Au cours des dernières années, l’accent a été déplacé vers les méthodes de recherche qualitative. Ces formations étaient organisées en séminaires de recherche avancée pendant lesquels les participants étaient familiarisés avec différentes techniques méthodologiques, leurs origines et leur philosophie scientifique. Le CODESRIA organise cinq séminaires méthodologiques sur la base d’un par sous-région, un spécialement dévolu au Nigéria, et un pour les pays sortant de situations de conflits. Dans le contexte de la décentralisation de la gestion des ateliers dans différentes universités et institutions de recherche avancée, le Conseil propose d’organiser un atelier méthodologique de formation des formateurs qui rassemble ceux qui sont chargés de familiariser d’autres avec les compétences de base dont ils ont besoin pour être de bons chercheurs.

La logique de tous les ateliers méthodologiques du CODESRIA reste la même. Comme terrain de connaissance, les méthodes quantitative et qualitative ont un statut de spécialité et il n’est pas acquis à tous les chercheurs en sciences sociales de maîtriser entièrement à la fois les détails techniques et les bases philosophiques. Egalement, le domaine de méthodes de recherche en sciences sociales, à la fois quantitative et qualitative, a connu une grande évolution marquée par une amélioration dans les outils et techniques disponibles. Cependant, historiquement, c’est un domaine pédagogique relativement faible dans la recherche en sciences sociales africaine ; la faiblesse est accentuée par la fuite massive des cerveaux qu’a connu le système universitaire à la suite des crises. Cette circonstance a constitué un désavantage majeur pour la jeune génération de chercheurs en sciences sociales et s’est reflétée dans la qualité de la recherche entreprise. La réduction de cet écart devint une préoccupation urgente ; le programme de formation des formateurs représente la dernière dans la série d’interventions développées par le CODESRIA et il est lancé dans le contexte d’interconnexion organique des objectifs de recherche des universités et la mission et la stratégie programmatique du Conseil.

La session 2013 de l’atelier de formation des formateurs réunira jusqu’à 25 participants. Les langues de travail seront le français et l’anglais. En plus des présentations qui seront faites par des personnes ressources, l’atelier sera structuré comme un forum d’étroite interaction et de réseautage entre les participants de manière qu’au-delà de la session formelle de formation, ils soient capables de continuer de partager leurs expériences. Des exercices pratiques de lecture seront organisés. Chaque session sera dirigée par un responsable assisté par une personne ressource. La session durera cinq jours. Chaque participant aura accès aux outils les plus récents – électroniques et non électroniques – disponibles sur les méthodes de recherche ; des présentations seront faites sur la philosophie de la science.

Les personnes intéressées par la session 2013 de la formation des formateurs sont priées de soumettre une demande écrite, une copie du résumé de leurs cours, un résumé sur les problèmes rencontrés dans leurs cours de méthodologie, une attestation de leur chef de département ou doyen de faculté indiquant qu’ils enseignent la méthodologie, et une copie actualisée de leur curriculum vitae. Ceux qui aimeraient participer en tant qu’animateur ou personne ressource, devront envoyer un lettre de candidature, une copie de leur curriculum vitae, un résumé des questions qu’ils aimeraient aborder dans leurs présentations, et une copie d’une ou plus de leurs plus récentes publications. Toutes les candidatures doivent parvenir au Secrétariat du CODESRIA au plus tard le 26 avril 2013. Les candidatures devront être envoyées à :

Le programme de formation méthodologique des formateurs
Secrétariat du CODESRIA
BP 3304, Dakar, CP 18524, Sénégal.
Tel. : +221-33 825 98 22/23
Fax : +221-33 824 12 89
E-mail : training.trainers codesria.sn
Site web : http://www.codesria.org

Vos commentaires

Répondre à cet article

Qui êtes-vous ?

Pour afficher votre trombine avec votre message, enregistrez-la d'abord sur gravatar.com (gratuit et indolore) et n'oubliez pas d'indiquer votre adresse e-mail ici.

Ajoutez votre commentaire ici

Suivre les commentaires : RSS 2.0 | Atom

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


CODESRIA Methodology Workshop Series: Training the Trainers
Theme: Quantitative and Qualitative Methods in Social Science Research

Deadline: 26 april, 2013

Number of visits: 2531

Date: 17-21June 2013
Venue: Dakar, Senegal

Call for Applications

Are you a lecturer in an African university? Do you have responsibility for the teaching of courses on research methods? If so, this announcement is targeted at you.

The Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa is pleased to announce its initiative targeted at those members of the African social research community who have responsibility in their universities for teaching undergraduate and graduate-level course in social science research methods. Over the two last decades, in cognisance of the multi-faceted crises confronting the African higher education system in general and the universities in particular, CODESRIA has invested itself in offering platforms for postgraduate students and mid-career professionals to be offered opportunities for training in quantitative and qualitative research methods. The first tranche of such training opportunities centred on quantitative research methods; over the last few years, the accent was shifted to qualitative research methods. Organised as advanced research seminars at which participants were exposed to various methodological techniques and their roots in the history and philosophy of science. CODESRIA organises five research methodology workshops every year on the basis of one per sub-region, one specially dedicated to Nigeria, and one for countries coming out of conflict situations. In the context of the decentralisation of the management of the workshops to various university and advanced research centres, the Council now also organises an annual advanced training of trainers methodology workshop bringing together those who have responsibility for imbuing others with the basic skills they require in order to be successful researchers.

The rationale for all CODESRIA methodology workshops remains the same: As a field of knowledge, quantitative and qualitative methods have a specialist status which is not given to all social scientists fully to master both in its technical details and philosophical underpinnings. Also, the field of social science research methods, both qualitative and quantitative, has undergone a considerable amount of evolution marked by an incremental improvement in the tools and techniques available to the researcher. And yet, historically, it is an area of pedagogy that was relatively weak in African social research; the weakness was exacerbated by the massive brain that affected the university system in the aftermath of the crises in the university system. This development constituted a major disadvantage for a younger generation of social researchers and was refracted into the overall quality of research carried out. Remedying the gap became a matter for urgent concern; the training of trainers programme represents the latest in the series of interventions developed by the CODESRIA, launched in the context of the organic inter-connection between the research purpose of the university and the mandate and programmatic strategy of the Council.

For the 2013 session of the training of trainers’ workshop, it is proposed to invite up to 25 participants. The workshop will be conducted in English and French. In addition to the presentations that would be made by invited resource persons, the workshop will be structured as a forum for close interaction and networking among the participants so that, beyond the formal sessions, they would be able to continue to share experiences on a continuing basis. Practical lecture-room exercises will also be included as part of the training. Each session will be facilitated by a convenor who will be assisted by three resource persons. The session will be organised over five working days. Each participant will be given access to the latest materials – electronic and non-electronic – available on research methods; presentations will also be made on the philosophy of science.

Those interested in applying to participate in the 2013 session are invited to submit a written application, a copy of their course outline, a short write-up on the major problems they encounter in teaching their methodology classes, a letter of attestation from their departmental head or faculty dean indicating that they do teach courses in methodology, and a copy of their latest Curriculum Vitae. For those interested in being considered to serve as convenor or resource persons, they are invited to send a short letter of application, a copy of their curriculum vitae, a copy of the outline of issues they wish to cover in their presentations, and a sample of one or more of their most recent publication (s). All applications must be received at the CODESRIA Executive Secretariat by 26 april, 2013. Applications should be addressed to:

The CODESRIA Training of Trainers Methodology Programme,
The CODESRIA Secretariat,
BP 3304, Dakar, CP 18524, Senegal.
Tel.: +221-33 825 98 22/23
Fax: +221-33 824 12 89
E-mail: training.trainers@codesria.sn
Website: http://www.codesria.org




Comments

simon kibira - 2013-02-21 07:50:35

Is this Course free for participants? Kindly help us understand what is involved for planning purposes.


Hassan Ishaq Ibrahim - 2013-02-26 12:42:00

Will the course participants be fully sponsored i.e fees,feeding, accomodation and transport to and from home country to be covered by CORDESRIA?


Hussaini Yusuf Ibrahim - 2013-02-26 18:38:28

The workshop announcement is silent on fees required.This information is vital for interested persons.


julius adediji - 2013-03-08 17:23:25

May I ask if students can participate. Also, what is the cost implication?


yakub adams - 2013-04-01 16:21:34

Could you please provide details on financial logistics involved? Will i need to finance my traveling and accommodation? important for planning purposes.


Samuel - 2013-04-19 10:04:23

It looks such as students are not allowed into this Conference, I am as well wondering if one have to use his own travel and accommodation expensies.