Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


l’Atelier méthodologique sous-régional pour l’Afrique de l’Est et australe

Nombre de visites : 2788

Du 26 au 30 janvier 2015 s’est tenu à l’African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD) à Juja, au Kenya, l’Atelier méthodologique sous-régional pour l’Afrique de l’Est et australe. Cette édition a réuni une vingtaine de participants dont 14 lauréats venus de l’Afrique du Sud, du Kenya, du Nigéria, de la Gambie, de l’Ethiopie, du Burundi, du Rwanda, Botswana, du Zimbabwe, de la Tanzanie et du Cameroun.

L’équipe pédagogique a été dirigée par Prof. Mildred Ndeda du Department of History and Philosophy School of Humanity and Social Science, Jaramogi Oginga Odinga/University of Science and Technology. Prof. Ndeda a été assistée par deux personnes resources : Prof. John Lekan Oyefara du Department of Sociology/ Faculty of Social Sciences/ University of Lagos, Akoka Yaba et Prof. Narain Sinha du Department of Economics/University of Botswana. Les lauréats de cette édition ont également bénéficié de la participation active au cours de l’atelier de Prof. Kenneth Inyani Simala, membre du Comité exécutif du CODESRIA.

Les lauréats ont pu pendant les cinq jours de l’atelier discuté de beaucoup de questions relatives notamment à l’épistémologie et à l’ontologie mais aussi aux différents modes d’interprétation du réel en sciences sociales. Des enseignements ont porté sur la construction de cadre conceptuel et de cadre théorique, l’élaboration des hypothèses de recherche, des techniques et des outils de collecte des données, mais aussi sur différentes méthodes d’analyse des données qualitatives et quantitatives. Des séances pratiques ont permis aux lauréats de discuter non seulement de leur projet de recherche mais également de l’utilisation pratique de l’ordinateur dans le traitement des données en sciences sociales.

En marge de l’atelier, une session d’information a été organisée, par l’intermédiaire de Prof. Ibrahim Oanda et de Prof. Sagna, doyen de la School of Social Sciences and Humanities, avec les étudiants en année de doctorat de Kenyatta University. Pendant cette session qui a vu la participation d’environ d’une centaine de jeunes chercheurs et des chercheurs séniors, une présentation de l’agenda intellectuel du CODESRIA et ses différents Programmes a été faite par Prof. Kenneth Inyani Simala. Il faut aussi noter les témoignages émouvants des Alumni du CODESRIA qui ont pris part à cette réunion.

Le Secrétariat du CODESRIA a été représenté par M. Coumba Ndoffène Diouf, Programme Manager et Mme Emilie Diouf Sarr, Assistante Administrative du Programme Formation, Bourses et Subventions. La coordination locale a été assurée par Mme Pamela Ngesa doctorante au Department of History and Archeology de l’Université de Nairobi.

février 10 2015



Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Sub-regional Methodological Workshop for Southern and Eastern Africa

Number of visits: 1722

CODESRIA Sub-regional Methodological Workshop for Southern and Eastern Africa was held from 26 to 30 January 2015 at the African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD) in Juja, Kenya. The workshop was attended by twenty participants including laureates from South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Gambia, Ethiopia, Burundi, Rwanda, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Tanzania and Cameroon.

The team of resource persons was led by Prof. Mildred Ndeda from the Department of History and Philosophy of the Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology, Kenya. Prof. Ndeda was assisted by two resource persons: Prof. John Lekan Oyefara of the Department of Sociology, University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos and Prof. Narain Sinha from the Department of Economics, University of Botswana. The laureates at the workshop also benefited from the active participation of Prof. Kenneth Simala Inyani, a member of the Executive Committee of CODESRIA.

During the workshop, the laureates discussed many issues related to epistemology and ontology. They also looked at different modes of interpretation of reality in the social sciences. Lessons focused on the building of conceptual and theoretical frameworks, the elaboration of research hypotheses, techniques and data collection tools, as well as different methods of analysis of qualitative and quantitative data. Practical sessions allowed the laureates to discuss not only their research but also the practical use of the computer in data processing in social sciences.

One important event that was held, outside the workshop, was a session to disseminate information about CODESRIA to PhD students of Kenyatta University. The session which was organized with the assistance of Prof. Oanda and Prof. Sagna (Dean of the School of Social Sciences and Humanities) had about a hundred young and senior researchers in attendance. Prof. Kenneth Simala Inyani made a presentation on CODESRIA’s intellectual agenda, while various CODESRIA alumni also shared their experiences. A lot of the participants found the session very enriching and insightful.

The CODESRIA Secretariat was represented by Mr. Coumba Ndoffène Diouf, Programme Manager and Ms. Emilie Diouf Sarr, Administrative Assistant of the Training, Grants and Fellowships Programme. The local coordination was anchored by Ms. Pamela Ngesa, a doctoral student at the Department of History and Archaeology of the University of Nairobi.




Comments