Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Appel à candidature sur la gouvernance de l’enseignement supérieur, recherche et politique en Afrique / Initiatives de Recherche pour la construction du sens du CODESRIA

Date limite de soumission : 30 Septembre 2017

Nombre de visites : 13148

Créé en 1973, le Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique (CODESRIA) a pour objectif de promouvoir les travaux en sciences sociales et humaines de chercheurs africains dans le but de contribuer à une meilleure compréhension de l’Afrique et de sa place dans le monde. La conviction qu’une connaissance plus approfondie du continent est inestimable pour les efforts visant à en faire un endroit meilleur pour ses peuples et sociétés.

Dans le cadre du Plan stratégique 2017-2021, le CODESRIA lance l’Initiative de Recherche pour la Construction du sens (IRC) qui sera l’outil principal de soutien à la recherche. Comme les précédents outils de soutien à la recherche, l’IRC appuiera des recherches qui contribuent à l’imagination, la planification et la création de futurs africains. Cet outil remplace cinq outils utilisés jusque-là par le CODESRIA pour soutenir la recherche, c’est-à-dire les Groupes nationaux de travail (GNT), les Groupes multinationaux de travail (GMT), les Réseaux de recherche comparative (RRC), les Groupes transnationaux de travail (GTT) et les Subventions postdoctorales. Un des objectifs de ce changement est d’accroître la lisibilité et la visibilité de la recherche soutenue par le Conseil en réduisant le nombre d’outils déployés.

L’adoption de l’IRC marque un réengagement pour les tâches d’interprétation et d’explication qui ont permis au CODESRIA de produire des travaux innovants sur des questions telles que la démocratisation et la réforme économique en Afrique. L’IRC adoptera une tendance plus résolue et poussera les universitaires à se fonder sur l’étroite observation des réalités africaines dans les tâches d’explication, d’interprétation et les efforts d’aborder et de relever les défis en Afrique. L’initiative renforcera le soutien aux chercheurs et leur meilleure intégration dans les activités du Conseil. Egalement, elle fournira systématiquement aux chercheurs, différentes manières de présenter leur travail, dont la publication de livres, d’articles de revues et des interventions politiques.

Principaux critères de sélection : Les propositions financées dans le cadre de cette initiative répondront à des critères, dont les suivants :

• Proposer des recherches sur des questions importantes des réalités sociales africaines relevant des thèmes prioritaires du Plan stratégique de CODESRIA. ;

• Clairement interroger les aspects déroutants des réalités sociales de l’Afrique et sa position dans le monde ;

• Se fonder sur une réflexion approfondie des réalités sociales et de l’histoire du continent ; • Engager de manière constructive et rigoureuse avec les futurs africains ;

• Etre théoriquement ambitieux, avec l’ objectif précis de proposer des voies innovantes de compréhension des réalités sociales africaines ;

• Explorer les multiples contextes spatio-temporels et sectoriels dans les cas où cet exercice contribuerait au processus de création de sens

• Démontrer une connaissance des savoirs déjà produits par CODESRIA.

Appel à candidature sur la gouvernance de l’enseignement supérieur, recherche et politique en Afrique

Les propositions acceptées suite à cet appel seront financées par une subvention de Carnegie Corporation de New York accordée au CODESRIA dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’engagement des politiques d’enseignement supérieur (HEPI) du CODESRIA. HEPI contribue à une meilleure gouvernance des universités africaines en mettant l’accent sur leur capacité à assurer pleinement leurs principales fonctions que sont l’enseignement, la recherche et l’engagement politique. Les principaux outils de HEPI sont la recherche, le renforcement des capacités de recherche, les rencontres des parties prenantes, la publication et la diffusion des résultats de la recherche. HEPI est une initiative du CODESRIA qui vise à complémenter le soutien aux chercheurs individuels par le renforcement des bases institutionnelles des établissements d’enseignement supérieur dans lesquels évoluent ces chercheurs. Les interventions à travers HEPI ciblent les universités dans les pays suivants : Ghana, Nigéria, Kenya, Ouganda, Tanzanie, Mozambique et Afrique du Sud. Tous les projets doivent porter sur ces pays retenus. Toutefois, les chercheurs qui entreprennent ces projets n’ont pas besoin d’être ressortissants ou résidents de ces pays.

Initiatives de groupes : les IRC en réponse à cet appel à propositions doivent être des groupes de recherche constitués de 3 à 5 membres provenant d’un ou plusieurs pays africains. Les groupes respecteront les principales exigences du CODESRIA en matière de genre, de diversité linguistique, de générations et de disciplines. Tous les membres d’un groupe doivent démontrer la capacité à contribuer de manière significative au travail du groupe. Le Conseil offre jusqu’à USD 35.000 pour chaque groupe sélectionné.

Priorités thématiques : le CODESRIA sollicite des projets portant sur une de ses trois thématiques prioritaires axées sur l’enseignement supérieur et la recherche en Afrique.
Sous ce vaste thème, les propositions devraient se concentrer sur les sous-thèmes suivants :

1. Élargir l’engagement des parties prenantes dans la gouvernance de l’enseignement supérieur : Collaborations et partenariats entre établissements d’enseignement supérieur et différentes parties prenantes, dont la société civile, le secteur privé et les donateurs. Impact de ces collaborations et partenariats sur la capacité des institutions d’enseignement supérieurs à améliorer leur gestion, l’enseignement, la recherche, le transfert et la prise en compte des connaissances ; leur capacité d’accroitre leur légitimité et de collecter des fonds.

2. Données, gouvernance et performance de l’enseignement supérieur : collecte, analyse, utilisation, stockage et gouvernance des données par les universités et enseignement et recherche de qualité, planification , gestion, suivi, évaluation et communication institutionnel(le).

3. Leadership et pédagogies innovantes : les liens entre les réformes et les changements dans la gouvernance universitaire d’une part et interventions pédagogiques innovantes, amélioration de la qualité et de la quantité de la recherche, performance et satisfaction des étudiants, et ’évaluation de la performance universitaire par des autres secteurs, d’autre part

4. Le rôle des universitaires de niveau intermédiaire : le rôle des universitaires de niveau intermédiaire, dont les doyens, chefs de départements, syndicats de personnel universitaire et chargés de cours dans la coordination des programmes académiques, la gouvernance universitaire, l’enseignement et la recherche.

Thèmes transversaux : Les candidatures doivent indiquer la manière dont certains des thèmes transversaux suivants sont intégrés dans les propositions : genre, générations, inégalité, ruralité et urbanité, mémoire et histoire, ainsi que futurs et les alternatives

Comment postuler : Les candidats intéressés par les subventions soumettront une demande contenant les documents requis suivants en format Word. Veuillez noter que les dossiers de candidature ne contenant pas un de ces éléments seront rejetés.

Une proposition avec les sections suivantes clairement intitulées  : introduction ; état des lieux et contextualisation des questions de recherche ; brève revue de la littérature et/ou des hypothèses concurrentes ; étude des concepts et de la méthodologie de recherche ; l’apport théorique et pratique de l’étude ; plan de recherche et un bref résumé du budget. Toutes les propositions devraient engager des cas dans au moins un des pays suivants : Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Afrique du Sud, Ouganda, Tanzanie et Mozambique. Les propositions sous format Word et ne devrait pas excéder 10 pages (type de police : Times New Roman ; taille de police : 12 ; espacement des lignes : double). Les études subventionnées ne devront strictement pas durer plus de 18 mois. Le CODESRIA financera directement les ateliers de lancement et les ateliers finaux. Le budget proposé couvrira essentiellement les dépenses pour les rubriques suivantes :

  • Les travaux de terrain et/ou d’archive qui seront entrepris dans le cadre du projet ;
  • La documentation acquise et autres matériels de recherche pour le projet ;
  • Les honoraires pour la recherche de terrain et/ou dans les archives.

Plan annoté des produits livrables : Table des matières annotée d’une page pour un livre ou un plan pour trois articles scientifiques à produire par le projet ;

Une lettre d’accompagnement  : présentant les détails complets- noms, Email, adresses physiques et numéros téléphone des membres et du coordonnateur du projet ;

CV (des) membres du projet, y compris les coordonnées complètes (indiquant noms, courriels et adresses physiques, numéro de téléphone - des membres et coordinateur du projet) ;

Affiliation institutionnelle : une lettre indiquant l’affiliation institutionnelle de chacun des membres ;

Fiche d’identification : une version remplie de la fiche d’identification jointe à cet appel. Veuillez garder le tableau sous le format Excel.

La date de soumission des demandes de subventions est fixée au 30 Septembre 2017. La notification des résultats à l’issue du processus de sélection sera faite le 30 Octobre 2017. Les candidats qui n’ont pas reçu de notification à cette date devraient considérer leurs candidatures comme infructueuses. Toutes les candidatures doivent être envoyées par courrier électronique au Programme d’initiatives de recherche 2017 du CODESRIA à mri@codesria.sn. En envoyant votre candidature, veuillez mentionner en objet « IRC ES 2017 » pour faciliter le traitement de votre demande.

Programme Recherche CODESRIA
BP 3304, CP 18524
Dakar, Senegal
Tel : +221 - 33 825 9822/23
Fax : +221- 33 824 1289
E-mail : mri@codesria.sn
Website : http://www.codesria.org




Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Special call on Higher Education Governance, Research and Policy in Africa / Meaning-making Research Initiatives (MRI)

Application deadline: September 30, 2017

Number of visits: 8177

Established in 1973, the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA) promotes research by African and Diaspora scholars in the Social Sciences and Humanities that can contribute to a better understanding of Africa and its place in the world. This is done in the belief that sound knowledge of the continent is invaluable to efforts to make Africa a better place for its peoples and societies.

Within the framework of the 2017-2021 Strategic Plan, CODESRIA introduces the Meaning-Making Research Initiative (MRI) as its principal tool for supporting research. Like previous tools, MRI will focus on supporting research that contributes to agendas for imagining, planning and creating African futures. MRI replaces five tools that CODESRIA had deployed in previous years to support research. These were National Working Groups (NWG), Multinational Working Groups (MWG), Comparative Research Networks (CRN), Transnational Working Groups (TWG) and postdoctoral grants. One goal of this move is to increase the legibility and visibility of the research supported by the Council by collapsing previous tools into a single initiative and therefore reducing the number of tools deployed to support research.

The adoption of MRI marks a recommitment to the tasks of interpretation and explanation that saw CODESRIA produce ground-breaking work on thematic issues such as democratization and economic reform in Africa. MRI will more aggressively push scholars to build on the close observation of African social realities to grapple with the tasks of explanation, interpretation and efforts to come to terms with and surpass challenges in Africa. The initiative will be marked by reinforced support to researchers and their better integration into the Council’s work. It will also systematically give scholars more varied ways to present their work, including through books, journal articles and policy interventions.

Key selection criteria: Projects funded under the broad MRI initiative, for which those submitting proposals under this call will meet many of the following criteria:

• Propose research on important aspects of African social realities that fall under CODESRIA’s priority themes as outlined in the CODESRIA Strategic Plan;

• Be guided by clear questions that explore puzzling aspects of the social realities of Africa and its position in the world;

• Be grounded in the thorough exploration of the continent’s social realities and history;

• Engage constructively and rigorously with African futures;

• Be theoretically ambitious with a clear goal of providing new and innovative ways of
understanding and making sense of African social realities;

• Explore multiple spatial, temporal and sectoral settings where this contributes to the process of meaning-making

• Demonstrate familiarity with knowledge already produced by CODESRIA

Special call on higher education governance, research and policy in Africa

Proposals accepted in response to this call will be funded by a grant from the Carnegie Corporation of New York to CODESRIA under CODESRIA’s Higher Education Policy Engagement Initiative (HEPI). HEPI seeks to contribute to the better governance of African universities with a focus on enabling them better achieve their core functions of teaching, research and policy engagement. The main tools of HEPI include research, research capacity enhancement, multi-stakeholder convenings, publications and dissemination of research findings. HEPI forms part of CODESRIA’s attempt to complement its support to individual scholars with an effort at strengthening the institutional basis of higher education institutions that produce and provide a space for the work of these scholars. Interventions under HEPI target universities in Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, T anzania, Mozambique and South Africa. All projects must engage cases in these countries. The scholars undertaking these projects, however, do not have to be from or be based in these countries.

Group initiatives: MRIs under this special call should be groups of researchers from one country or multiple countries. Each group should have between 3 and 5 members and should take into account CODESRIA’s core principles of gender, linguistic, intergenerational, interdisciplinary diversity. All members of a group should have a demonstrated ability to contribute meaningfully to the work of the group. The Council offers up to USD 35,000 for each winning project.

Thematic priorities: CODESRIA seeks projects addressing the third of its three thematic priorities which focuses on higher education and research in Africa. Under this broad theme, proposals should focus on the following sub-themes:

1. Broadening stakeholder engagement in Higher Education governance: Collaboration and partnerships between higher education institutions and various stakeholders, including civil society, the private sector and donors. The impact of these collaborations and partnerships on the ability of these institutions to improve their governance, teaching, research, and the transfer and uptake of knowledge; and to increase their legitimacy, and capacity to raise funds.

2. Data and higher education governance and performance: The collection, analysis, use, storage and governance of data by universities and the quality of training, research, institutional planning, management, monitoring and evaluation and communication in institutions of higher education.

3. Leadership and innovative pedagogies: The links between reforms in university governance on one hand and innovative pedagogical interventions, improvements in the quality and quantity of research, student performance and satisfaction, and the assessment of university performance by other sectors on the other.

4. The role of middle level academics: The role of middle level academic officials, including deans, heads of departments, officials of academic staff unions and course coordinators in the coordination of academic programs, university governance, teaching and research .

Cross-cutting themes: Applications should indicate the ways in which some of these cross-cutting themes are integrated in the proposals: these are gender, generations, inequality, rurality and urbanity, memory and history, as well as futures and alternatives

How to apply

Interested applicants should submit application packages containing the following required materials as Word documents. Please note that applications that lack any of these elements will be discarded.

• A proposal with the following clearly titled sections: an introduction; statement and contextualization of research question; brief review of literature and/or competing hypotheses; study design and research methodology; theoretical and practical significance of the study; research plan and a brief summary of budget. All proposals should engage cases from one or more of the following countries- Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania and Mozambique. Proposals must be submitted as Word documents and should not exceed 10 pages long (font type: Times New Roman; font size: 12; line spacing: double). Brief budgets should be incorporated into proposals and should take into consideration the fact that these grants have strict 18-month lifespans. CODESRIA will directly fund launch and completion workshops. The budget should cover expenses for the following:

  • Field and/or archival research to be undertaken
  • Books and other scholarly materials purchased for the project
  • Honorariums paid to researchers during field and/or archival research

Annotated plan of deliverables: One-page annotated table of contents for book or annotated plan for three scholarly articles to be produced as deliverables of the project.

A cover letter listing full details- names, email and physical addresses and telephone number- of the members and coordinator of the project

CVs of the members of the project, including full contact details

Institutional affiliation: A letter indicating institutional affiliation of each member

Identification sheet: A completed version of the identification sheet attached to this call.

Please leave the document as an Excel file.

The deadline for submission of applications for both individual and group grants is September 30, 2017. Notification of the result of the selection process will be done by October 30, 2017 and applicants who will not hear from us by then should consider their applications unsuccessful. All applications should be sent by email to 2017 Research Initiatives Program, CODESRIA at mri@codesria.sn. When sending your email kindly use the subject line ‘MRI HE 2017’ to facilitate the processing of your application.

Research Program CODESRIA
BP 3304, CP 18524 Dakar, Senegal
Tel: +221 - 33 825 9822/23
Fax: +221- 33 824 1289
E-mail: mri@codesria.sn
Website: http://www.codesria.org




Comments