Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Les média dans la gouvernance africaine

2005

Nombre de visites : 2385

Les quinze dernières années de l’histoire africaine ont été témoins de changements dramatiques dans les média, la plupart de ces changements survenant en même temps ou annonçant l’ouverture de l’espace politique dans différents pays au moment où déclinait le système de parti unique et de gouvernements militaires et au moment où s’amorçait la restauration des systèmes multipartites. Également, la révolution mondiale dans les techniques de l’information et de la communication (TIC) a touché l’Afrique si bien que ses effets ont transformé le domaine des média sur le continent. Les changements survenus sont visibles même par les observateurs les moins avertis : l’effondrement du monopole de l’État sur la presse écrite et électronique avec l’émergence, voire la prolifération, de stations de radio et de télévision privées ainsi que de journaux, l’essor du téléphone portable, le déploiement de satellites améliorant la couverture territoriale et la qualité des transmissions, l’adoption de nouvelles technologies d’impression qui facilitent la production et la distribution simultanée de journaux à partir de sites multiples et l’expansion rapide de l’accès et de l’utilisation d’Internet comme médium pour obtenir et diffuser l’information. Ces nouveaux développements ont non seulement remodelé les manières de production et de distribution d’informations mais aussi le mode de consommation de ces informations, les publics de consommateurs, et les types d’informations recherchés. En d’autres termes, les changements ont eu des implications dans la structuration du rôle des média dans la gouvernance africaine contemporaine.

Nombre d’étudiants en sciences politiques, en études sur les média et les communications de masse on crû avec la formule qui dit que les média constituent le quatrième pouvoir en gouvernance, les trois autres étant l’exécutif, le législatif et le judiciaire. Mais les relations entre les média et l’État ont historiquement été un terrain chaudement contesté, ce qui est compliqué par le fait que les média, théoriquement du moins, ont aussi une responsabilité principale d’informer, d’éduquer et de divertir des lecteurs et des audiences, avec l’autonomie, la créativité et l’orientation critique nécessaires à leur crédibilité. Dans le contexte de l’histoire récente africaine, cette complexité a été « résolue » en plusieurs endroits, soit par l’imposition d’un monopole d’État sur la propriété des média ou sur la promulgation de lois très restrictives qui limitent la marge de manœuvre de la presse privée ou non gouvernementale. Dans l’environnement de répression et d’intolérance qui a prévalu, il n’est pas rare de voir des média pirates ou clandestins prospérer grâce à la prise de risque et au dévouement des journalistes qui les animent. Normalement, la libéralisation de l’espace politique dans la plupart des pays africains durant les quinze dernières, et les nouvelles possibilités offertes par la révolution des TIC, devraient représenter une importante et nouvelle ouverture dans le rôle que peuvent jouer les média dans les processus de gouvernance, y compris le développement d’une culture civique qui aiderait au renforcement de la transition démocratique. La portée du rôle des média et ses conséquences est une question pertinente qui constitue le point saillant de la session 2005 de l’Institut sur la Gouvernance démocratique. Les participants à l’Institut seront invités à examiner le rôle des média dans la gouvernance africaine contemporaine avec en perspective l’examen des progrès enregistrés, des reculs, des causes des avancées et celles des reculs et des perspectives d’avenir.

Les participants à l’institut seront également encouragés à, entre autres questions, examiner les schémas de distribution des média entre presse écrite et média électroniques ; les changements intervenus dans la relative influence d’un médium comparé aux autres ; la structure d’appartenance des différents média qui existent et les implications de la propriété dans l’exercice de l’intégrité journalistique dans la présentation des informations ; le rôle des journalistes non seulement en tant que rapporteurs d’informations mais aussi en tant que faiseurs d’informations sous la forme de questions qu’ils traitent et qu’ils amplifient ; l’état de la liberté de la presse dans différents pays et dans quelle mesure il serait un indicateur de l’ancrage du processus de démocratisation en cours ; la quête pour un meilleur accès à l’information et les campagnes en faveur de législations pour la liberté d’information ; la capacité du journalisme d’enquête et des exemples de journalismes d’investigation qui ont contribué à repousser les limites de la gouvernance démocratique ; la capacité des média à jouer le rôle de tour de garde du gouvernement dans un contexte caractérisé par l’hétérogénéité du secteur des média et l’hétérogénéité des intérêts de leurs propriétaires ; le rôle des média dans les politiques identitaires communes en Afrique aujourd’hui et qui, dans les cas les plus difficiles, ont conduit à de violents conflits et à l’effondrement de l’autorité du gouvernement central ; les tensions entre les fonctions de service public des média et la logique de commercialisation qui anime ces organisations ; l’utilité de la propagation des technologies de téléphonie portable pour la gouvernance démocratique ; le statut et le rôle d’Internet comme outil de création de nouveaux publics capables d’unir l’opinion pour la transformation des politiques ; l’Internet comme ressource de création de nouvelles communautés sociales et politiques, ou la propagation de nouveaux types d’identités et leurs implications dans la gouvernance démocratique ; enfin, le contenu et l’orientation des services multimédia dans les différents pays et comment ils s’articulent à différents niveaux à la gouvernance.

A travers l’institut sur la gouvernance 2005, le Conseil entend poursuivre le travail effectué dans un passé récent sur les média et sur la démocratisation en portant son attention sur l’éventail et la diversité des questions suscitées et posées par les changements dans le domaine des média en Afrique. Les participants potentiels sont encouragés à définir les contours des changements en cours, de produire de nouvelles perspectives empiriques et analytiques, d’entreprendre une analyse comparative de leurs résultats et de réfléchir aux défis posés par leur propre travail aux cadres conceptuels hérités/dominants.

novembre 5 2006



Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


The Media in African Governance

2005

Number of visits: 1683

The last decade and half in African history has witnessed dramatic changes in the media terrain on the continent, with most of the new developments occurring alongside or even signalling the opening up of the political space in different countries as single party and military rule went into decline and multi-party systems were re-introduced. But equally important is the fact that the world-wide revolution in information and communications technologies (ICTs) was refracted into Africa in ways which has had a transformatory effect on the media terrain on the continent. The changes which have occurred are visible enough even to the most casual of observers: the collapse of the monopoly of the state on the print and electronic media with the emergence, indeed proliferation of privately—owned and managed radio and television stations, as well as newspapers; the growth and spread of the use of mobile telephone technology to deliver and receive news; the deployment of dedicated satellite spaces for enhancing territorial coverage and transmission quality; the adoption of new electronic printing technologies that facilitate the simultaneous production and distribution of newspapers from multiple sites; and the rapid spread of access to and use of the internet as a medium for accessing news and for disseminating information. These developments have not only re-shaped the ways in which news is produced and distributed but also the mode of consumption of information, the publics that consume news, and the type of news that is sought after. In other words, the changes that have taken place have carried implications for the way in which the role of the media in contemporary governance in Africa is structured.

Students of politics, media studies and mass communications have always been brought up on the dictum that the media constitutes the fourth estate in governance, the other three being the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. But the relationship between the media and the state has historically been a hotly contested terrain, one which is made complicated by the fact the media, nominally at least, also has a primary responsibility to inform, educate and entertain the reading and listening public, doing so with the autonomy, creativity and critical orientation that is necessary for its credibility. In the context of Africa’s recent history, that complication was “resolved” in most places either by the imposition of a state monopoly on the ownership of the media or the enactment of highly restrictive laws to limit the room for manoeuvre of the private or non-governmental press. In the environment of repression and intolerance that prevailed, it was not uncommon for pirate and “guerrilla” or underground media to flourish even if at great peril to the journalists whose dedication powered them. Ordinarily, therefore, the liberalisation of the political space in most of Africa over the last decade and half, and the new possibilities offered by the ICT revolution, ought to represent an important new opening for an effective role by the media in the processes of governance on the continent, including the development of a civic culture that could help strengthen the democratic transition. The extent to which the media has been able to play this role and with what consequences is a relevant research question which will constitute an important focus of the 2005 session of the CODESRIA Democratic Governance Institute. Participants in the Institute will be invited to examine the role of the media in contemporary governance in Africa with a view to assessing the progress which has been recorded, the setbacks which have occurred, the reasons that underpin progress and setback and the prospects for the future.

Participants in the Institute will also be encouraged to, among many other issues, examine the patterns of distribution of the media as between print and electronic organisations; shifts that may be occurring in the relative influence of one medium as compared to the others; the structure of ownership of the different media organisations that exist and the implications of ownership for the exercise of journalistic integrity in reporting the news; the role of journalists not only as reporters of news but also makers of the news which they report in terms of the issues which they cover and emphasise; the state of press freedom in different countries and the extent to which this could be an indicator of the depth of the process of democratisation that is underway; the quest for a greater access to information and the campaigns for legislation supporting the freedom of information; the capacity for investigative reporting and examples of investigative journalism that have contributed to advances in the boundaries of democratic governance; the capacity of the media to play the role of an effective watchdog of government in view the heterogeneity that characterises the media sector and heterogeneity of the interests that own the media organisations; the role of the media in the politics of identity that is widespread in Africa today and which, in the most difficult cases, has resulted in violent conflicts and the collapse of central governmental authority; the tensions between the public service functions of the media and the logic of commercialism that drives most organisations; the utility for democratic governance of the deployment of mobile technologies; the status and role of the internet as a tool for the creation of new publics which are able to aggregate opinion for the transformation of politics; the internet as a resource for the creation of new social and political communities or the spread of new types of identity and the implications of this for democratic governance; and the content and direction of multi-media services in different countries and the ways in which they connect with governance at different levels.

Through the 2005 Governance Institute, the Council proposes to extend the work which it has supported in recent years on the media and democratisation by focusing attention on the range and variety of issues arising from and posed by changes in the African media terrain. Prospective participants will be encouraged to map the different contours of change that are occurring, produce fresh empirical and analytic insights, engage in a comparative analysis of their findings and reflect on the challenges posed by their own work to inherited/dominant conceptual frames.




Comments

Jane - 2013-05-27 02:55:14

An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheershb20i6gO2HuRY8QXIY71vT6M