Weiss Architecture Studio

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae lorem.

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa



The Executive Secretariat

The Executive Secretariat is based in Dakar, Senegal. It is responsible for implementing the programmes and activities that are set out in the Strategic Plan and approved annually by the Executive Committee. The Secretariat works in close collaboration with the Executive Committee and the Scientific Committee.

The Secretariat is organised around the three scientific programmes of the Council and an administration and finance department. These programmes and the Department of Administration and Finance are overseen by the Office of the Executive Secretary, which includes the office of the Deputy Executive Secretary.

At the helm of the Secretariat is the Executive Secretary. The primary responsibility of this role is to represent the Council externally and provide overall leadership in the management of the Council and in the formulation and implementation of its intellectual agenda.


The Office of the ES broadly oversees implementation of the Council’s governance and intellectual mandate. It co-ordinates the affairs of the Council and ensures timely and efficient programme implementation. It reports to the Executive Committee, Scientific Committee and the wider social science and humanities community in Africa and its diaspora. The Office of the ES also oversees partnerships, including facilitating fiscal oversight by partners who fund the work of the Council.

Since its creation in 1973, the Secretariat has had seven Executive Secretaries:

The current Executive Secretary, Dr Godwin R. Murunga, assumed office on 1 June 2017.

The Executive Secretary is deputised by a Deputy Executive Secretary whose responsibilities are administrative and intellectual. Administratively, the Deputy Executive Secretary has direct responsibility for: Monitoring & Evaluation (M&E), Information Technology (IT), Protocol and Travel, and Communication

In an intellectual capacity, the Deputy Executive Secretary runs the Council’s Collaborative Programme. This is a specific CODESRIA programme that houses projects situated at the intersection of research, capacity-building and publications. These include projects on Academic Freedom; Gender; African Humanities; and the Sahel.  They are intentionally designed and implemented to work collaboratively alongside and across the three scientific programmes.



Dr Murunga is a historian and political analyst of Kenyan origin. Prior to joining CODESRIA as the Executive Secretary, he was lecturing at the Institute of Development Studies of the University of Nairobi. He was the immediate past director of the Africa Leadership Centre in Nairobi, and was a member of the Executive Committee of CODESRIA for two consecutive terms (2005-2011). Dr. Murunga brings to CODESRIA many years of robust scholarship as evidenced by the incisive analysis that characterized his numerous scholarly publications. He also has valuable teaching and management experience and a deep knowledge of the higher education landscape in Africa. In appointing him to the high office of CODESRIA Executive Secretary, the Executive Committee considered Dr. Murunga uniquely qualified for the position given his in-depth knowledge of CODESRIA, a track record of robust scholarship and exemplary leadership, and his strong and clear vision for CODESRIA’s future. Dr Murunga formally assumed duties at the CODESRIA Secretariat on 1 June 2017.


Staff in the Office of the ES:

Francine Adade

Programme Assistant

Racky Wane

Executive Assistant

Yves Eric Elouga

Communication Officer

Sheila Kinya Gitonga

Programme Manager

Marieme Ly

Chief Protocol & Travel Services Officer

Fatima Preira Bassangué

Receptionist / Mail Clerk Officer

Bassirou Wagne

IT Officer I

Alioune FALL

IT Officer II


The scientific programmes are at the centre of the Secretariat’s intellectual work. Each programme is led by a Head of Programme/Senior Programme Officer recruited by the Executive Committee to lead the implementation of activities under the programme.

Staff in the scientific programmes:



Amy Niang

Senior Programme Officer Research

Patricia Gomes

Program Officer

Khady Diop

Programme Manager

Mamay Jah

Program Assistant

Ndèye Aïssatou Ndiaye

Administrative and Bilingual Assistant


Chifaou I. J. Amzat

Production Editor (English/French)

Emiliane Faye


Diama Beye

Administrative Assistant

Lallah Bousso Diop

Programme Assistant, CODICE


Samuel Fongwa,

Program Officer

Bertha Kibona

Programme Manager

Dominique Sambou

Bilingual Administrative Assistant


The Department of Administration and Finance supports the scientific programmes. Its core mandate is to enable the professional development and wellbeing of the Secretariat staff and provide effective oversight on the Council’s financial operations. The Department also works with external auditors who audit the Council at least once every three months.

Staff in the Department of Administration & Finance:

Gladys Nkengne


Awa D. Ndao Gueye

Procurement Officer

Khady Dione


Bernard Sarr


Babacar Anne

Store keeper, Reproduction Services and Postages

Etienne Sagna

Headquarter and Maintenance Staff

Mouhamed Diallo

Headquarter and Maintenance Staff

Assane Diouf

Headquarter and Maintenance Staff

WhatsApp RA(CTA)