Weiss Architecture Studio

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae lorem.

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa



PhD/Doctoral Scholarships: Call for Applications

Closing Date: 30 September 2016

The National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIHSS), in association
with the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA)

The NIHSS has partnered with CODESRIA to develop the African Pathways Programme scholarship. The aim of the scholarship is in line with the mandates of the Institute and Council to promote and facilitate research in the humanities and social sciences as well as to explore new vistas in pan-African scholarship.

Applications are invited from suitably qualified non-South African students to study full
time towards a doctoral degree in the humanities and social sciences at any public
university in South Africa. The scholarship call will be open to students whose research
is focused on their country or a comparative project on the following broad themes:

 Pre and post-colonial states, institutions and local experiences
 Histories and legacies of liberation struggles
 Regional integration, new development and economic alternatives
 International political economy and the role of African humanities
 Heritage, identity and culture (including literature, performance, art and


 Only non-South African citizens (based in any African country) from designated
groups, with a preference to women.
 Not older than 45 years of age at the time of the application.

Value, Period and Conditions of the Award

The value of the award is R126 000 in the first year. Annual renewals are subject to proof of satisfactory progress. The maximum period for the award is three years. Successful candidates will be expected to sign a contract as regards conditions of the scholarship.

Selection criteria

 A successful completion of a Master’s degree, or entering the first year of
PhD/doctoral study following an upgrade from a Master’s registration, or registered for PhD study in first year of enrolment.
 Academic merit.
 Coherence and feasibility of the proposed research project.
 Contribution of the project to the body of knowledge in the field.

Application Procedure

Candidates should submit the following documentation for application:

1. Online application form, which is accessible through the link:
2. Letter of confirmation by the prospective department or supervisor that you will be
admitted to the participating university for registration for PhD study.
3. A motivation letter (not longer than one A4 page – 500 words).
4. A recent intellectual autobiography: a narrative of the major influences in your
intellectual life (not longer than one A4 page – 500 words).
5. A research proposal outlining the problem statement, methodology, feasibility of your study and the contribution it will make to the body of knowledge in the particular field of study.
6. A certified copy of your full academic transcript/s.
7. A certified copy of your passport.
8. Sample copies of your best writing, e.g. a chapter from your Master’s study or any published academic work.
9. Two letters of recommendation from academics who are familiar with your work,
of which one must be the supervisor of your Master’s thesis. Letters of recommendation can be uploaded by the relevant academic at the following link:

Please direct all queries to June-Rose Ngcobo at: scholarships@nihss.ac.za
Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.
Closing Date: 30 September 2016
Also visit NIHSS website: www.nihss.ac.za

The following South African public universities are participating in the programme:

Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Durban University of Technology; Nelson
Mandela Metropolitan University; North West University; Rhodes University;
Stellenbosch University; Tshwane University of Technology; University of Cape Town;
University of Fort Hare; University of the Free State; University of Johannesburg;
University of KwaZulu-Natal; University of Limpopo; University of Pretoria; University of South Africa; University of the Western Cape; University of the Witwatersrand; University of Venda; University of Zululand; Vaal University of Technology; and Walter Sisulu University

WhatsApp RA(CTA)