Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


In Search of Africa(s) : Postcolonialism and the Univers

SPEAKER :
Souleymane Bachir Diagne is a philosopher based at Columbia University. His talk will refect on a new co-authored dialogue between himself and the Africanist anthropologist Jean-Loup Amselle, In Search of Africa(s) : Universalism and Decolonial Thought (2020).

Nombre de visites : 245

The Other Universals consortium will be hosting a series of online seminars over the next few months. These talks will draw on political and aesthetic archives of emancipatory projects of the global south. They will examine radical traditions and ideas of expansive citizenship that have emerged in the colonial and postcolonial modern. Particular focus will be on idioms of difference, which defne insider and outsider, majority and minority, how these emerged, were negotiated and transcended.

18th June 3 PM SAST (GMT+2)

  • Ethiopia @ 16:00 EAT (UTC+3)
  • Ghana @ 13:00 GMT (UTC+0)
  • Uganda @ 16:00 EAT (UTC+3)
  • Lebanon @ 16:00 EEST (UTC+3)
  • Barbados @ 09:00 AST (UTC- 4)
  • US East Coast @ 09:00 EDT (UTC-4)

Register by June 14th to : otheruniversalsproject@gmail.com

www.chrfagship.uwc.ac.za

juin 17 2020



Commentaires